This morning we took a deep dive into technology and how life has evolved. Technology plays a large roll in our lives both personally and professionally. As someone who has come from a third world country, its been quit a culture shock since I’ve emigrated to New Zealand a year and a half ago. Its taken some time for me to get used to the amount of technology used in the classroom and I can happily say, that I am now finally able to use these different types of technologies to their (almost) full potential. Don’t get me wrong, I’m no professional yet but sooooo much better than where I was a year ago.

We had a look at Generative AI and some of the productivity tools, some of which were chat gbt, magic school, TeachAid and diffit. Out of all of these tools TeachAid really stood out to me. We had some time to go through this tools and I took my time to get familiar with TeachAid. TeachAid seems really great, I love the fact that it has the New Zealand curriculum loaded onto it. TeachAid would be very helpful in helping set up lesson planning. It can create multiple choice tasks, paste links and it will set out questions according to your link and organize your work into an easy to manage task.

 

Lastly we went on to coding. This was my favorite and I can see how this can gain and hold a students attention. We went off into different groups. I went into the dance party group. In this group we spent an hour learning about coding and creating a dance party with different characters. It was so much fun. I really enjoyed this and would love to plan a lesson where my students could have the chance to code their own dance party.

 

Overall it was a great day, with a lot of interesting content.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *